Faculty & Staff by Rank

Professor

NameEmailFields
William Atkinsonatkinsoncw@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 1900 to Present
Language Studies & Linguistics
World Literature
Sandra L. Ballardballardsl@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Joseph Bathantibathantjr@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Poetry & Poetics
William Brewerbrewerwd@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 19th Century
British Literature - The Romantic Period
Cece Conwayconwayec@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Folklore
Bruce Dickdickba@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - African American
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Film
Carl Ebyebycp@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - African American
Critical Theory
Gender Studies
Jill Ehnennehnennjr@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 19th Century
British Literature - Victorian
Critical Theory
Gender Studies and Queer Studies
Craig Fischerfischercj@appstate.eduCultural Studies
Film
Leonardo Floresfloresll@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
Poetry & Poetics
Digital Media & Culture
Kristina Groovergrooverkk@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - African American
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Alison Gulleygulleyea@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Medieval
Gender Studies
History of the English Language
Rosemary Horowitzhorowitzr@appstate.eduTechnical & Professional Writing
Kathryn Kirkpatrickkirkpatrick@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Critical Theory
Ecocriticism
Gender Studies
Irish Literature & Culture
Poetry & Poetics
David Orvis orvisdl@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Critical Theory
Queer Studies
Elaine O'Quinnoquinnej@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Alexander Pitofskypitofskyah@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 18th Century
Film
Colin Ramsey ramseyct@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - Colonial & Federal
Lynn Moss Sanderssanderslm@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Folklore
Susan C. Staubstaubsc@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Mark Vogelvogelmw@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Tammy Wahpeconiahwahpeconiaht@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - Colonial & Federal
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Cultural Studies
Jennifer Wilsonwilsonjp@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 18th Century

Associate Professor

NameEmailFields
Jessie Blackburnblackburnjb@appstate.eduAssistant Chair
Rhetoric
Rhetoric & Composition
Technical & Professional Writing
Germán Campos-Muñozcamposmunozg@appstate.eduComparative Literature
Critical Theory
Film
World Literature
Leslie Susan Cookcookls@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Lynn Doyledoylel@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Poetry & Poetics
Sarah-Beth Hoptonhoptonsb@appstate.eduRhetoric
Technical & Professional Writing
James Ivoryivoryjm@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 1900 to Present
Critical Theory
Post-Colonial Literature
Donna Lillianlilliandl@appstate.eduDiscourse Analysis
History of the English Language
Language Studies & Linguistics
Mark PowellPowelljm1@appstate.edu Creative Writing
Lynn Searfosssearfossla@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
History of the English Language
Language Studies & Linguistics
Rhetoric & Composition
Zackary Vernonvernonzd@appstate.edu American Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Ecocriticism
Film
Southern Studies
Susan Weinbergweinbergsc@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Michael T. Wilsonwilsonmt@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
Cultural Studies
Gender Studies
Wendy Winnwinnwl@appstate.eduTechnical & Professional Writing

Assistant Professor

NameEmailFields
Başak Çandarcandarb@appstate.eduComparative Literature
Critical Theory
World Literature
Chris Meademeadecm@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Comparative Literature
Critical Theory
Post-Colonial Literature
World Literature
Clarice Moranmorancm1@appstate.edu 
Kyle Stevensstevensck@appstate.eduFilm
Television Studies
Cultural Studies
Queer Studies
Critical Theory                                                          
Belinda Walzerwalzerbl@appstate.eduRhetoric and Composition
Human Rights rhetoric and literature
Temporalty
Rhetorics of resistance
Postcolonial studies and global Anglophone literature
Diversity and inclusion in composition studies
 mannonbo@appstate.edu 

Visiting Assistant Professor

NameEmailFields
Frank Hurley hurleyfp@appstate.eduTechnical & Professional Writing
Caleb Johnsonjohnsonc4@appstate.edu Creative Writing, Fiction and Nonfiction
Anna Muenchrathmuenchrathal@appstate.edu 
Savannah Murray murrays@appstate.edu 

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Professor Emeritus

NameEmailFields
Edwin T. Arnoldenglish@appstate.edu 
Melissa Barthbarthme@appstate.eduCritical Theory
Gender Studies
Technical & Professional Writing
Howard Giskingiskinha@appstate.eduWorld Literature
Edelma Huntleyenglish@appstate.edu 
Leon Lewislewislh@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Film
Emory Maidenmaidenev@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
Holly Martinmartinhe@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Grace McEnteemcenteege@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - African American
Thomas McGowanmcgowanta@appstate.edu 
Thomas McLaughlinmclaughlin@appstate.eduCritical Theory
Gene Millerenglish@appstate.edu 
Roger Stillingstillingrj@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Film
Wilber Wardwardwh@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - Colonial & Federal

Senior Lecturer

Lecturer

Adjunct