Faculty & Staff by Rank

Professor

NameEmailFields
William Atkinsonatkinsoncw@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 1900 to Present
Language Studies & Linguistics
World Literature
Sandra L. Ballardballardsl@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Joseph Bathantibathantjr@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Poetry & Poetics
William Brewerbrewerwd@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 19th Century
British Literature - The Romantic Period
Cece Conwayconwayec@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Folklore
Bruce Dickdickba@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - African American
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Film
Carl Ebyebycp@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - African American
Critical Theory
Gender Studies
Jill Ehnennehnennjr@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 19th Century
British Literature - Victorian
Critical Theory
Gender Studies and Queer Studies
Craig Fischerfischercj@appstate.eduCultural Studies
Film
Leonardo Floresfloresll@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
Poetry & Poetics
Digital Media & Culture
Kristina Groovergrooverkk@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - African American
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Alison Gulleygulleyea@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Medieval
Gender Studies
History of the English Language
Kathryn Kirkpatrickkirkpatrick@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Critical Theory
Ecocriticism
Gender Studies
Irish Literature & Culture
Poetry & Poetics
David Orvis orvisdl@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Critical Theory
Queer Studies
Elaine O'Quinnoquinnej@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Alexander Pitofskypitofskyah@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 18th Century
Film
Colin Ramsey ramseyct@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - Colonial & Federal
Susan C. Staubstaubsc@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Jennifer Wilsonwilsonjp@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 18th Century

Associate Professor

NameEmailFields
Jessie Blackburnblackburnjb@appstate.eduAssistant Chair
Rhetoric
Rhetoric & Composition
Technical & Professional Writing
Germán Campos-Muñozcamposmunozg@appstate.eduComparative Literature
Critical Theory
Film
World Literature
Başak Çandar candarb@appstate.eduComparative Literature
Critical Theory
World Literature
Leslie Susan Cookcookls@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Lynn Doyledoylel@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Poetry & Poetics
Sarah-Beth Hoptonhoptonsb@appstate.eduRhetoric
Technical & Professional Writing
James Ivoryivoryjm@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 1900 to Present
Critical Theory
Post-Colonial Literature
Donna Lillianlilliandl@appstate.eduDiscourse Analysis
History of the English Language
Language Studies & Linguistics
Mark PowellPowelljm1@appstate.edu Creative Writing
Lynn Searfosssearfossla@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
History of the English Language
Language Studies & Linguistics
Rhetoric & Composition
Zackary Vernonvernonzd@appstate.edu American Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Ecocriticism
Film
Southern Studies
Susan Weinbergweinbergsc@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Michael T. Wilsonwilsonmt@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
Cultural Studies
Gender Studies

Assistant Professor

NameEmailFields
Chris Meademeadecm@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Comparative Literature
Critical Theory
Post-Colonial Literature
World Literature
Bethany Mannon mannonbo@appstate.edu Contemporary and Cultural Rhetorics
Gender, Religion, and Social Movements
Teaching and Tutoring Writing
Clarice Moranmorancm1@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Kyle Stevensstevensck@appstate.eduFilm
Television Studies
Cultural Studies
Queer Studies
Critical Theory                                                          
Belinda Walzerwalzerbl@appstate.eduRhetoric and Composition
Human Rights rhetoric and literature
Temporalty
Rhetorics of resistance
Postcolonial studies and global Anglophone literature
Diversity and inclusion in composition studies
   

Visiting Assistant Professor

Professor Emeritus

NameEmailFields
Edwin T. Arnoldenglish@appstate.edu 
Melissa Barthbarthme@appstate.eduCritical Theory
Gender Studies
Technical & Professional Writing
Howard Giskingiskinha@appstate.eduWorld Literature
Edelma Huntleyenglish@appstate.edu 
Leon Lewislewislh@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Film
Holly Martinmartinhe@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Grace McEnteemcenteege@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - African American
Thomas McGowanmcgowanta@appstate.edu 
Thomas McLaughlinmclaughlin@appstate.eduCritical Theory
Gene Millerenglish@appstate.edu 
Roger Stillingstillingrj@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Film
Wilber Wardwardwh@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - Colonial & Federal

Senior Lecturer

Lecturer

Adjunct

Staff

Kaila Hillhillkg1@appstate.eduOffice Manager