Faculty & Staff by Rank

Professor

NameEmailFields
William Atkinsonatkinsoncw@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 1900 to Present
Language Studies & Linguistics
World Literature
Sandra L. Ballardballardsl@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Joseph Bathantibathantjr@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Poetry & Poetics
William Brewerbrewerwd@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 19th Century
British Literature - The Romantic Period
Cece Conwayconwayec@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Folklore
Bruce Dickdickba@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - African American
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Film
Carl Ebyebycp@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - African American
Critical Theory
Department Chair
Gender Studies
Jill Ehnennehnennjr@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 19th Century
British Literature - Victorian
Critical Theory
Gender Studies
Craig Fischerfischercj@appstate.eduCultural Studies
Film
Kristina Groovergrooverkk@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - African American
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Rosemary Horowitzhorowitzr@appstate.eduTechnical & Professional Writing
Kathryn Kirkpatrickkirkpatrick@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Critical Theory
Ecocriticism
Gender Studies
Irish Literature & Culture
Poetry & Poetics
Elaine O'Quinnoquinnej@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Alexander Pitofskypitofskyah@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 18th Century
Film
Georgia Rhoadesrhoadesgd@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Lynn Moss Sanderssanderslm@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Folklore
Susan C. Staubstaubsc@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Mark Vogelvogelmw@appstate.eduEnglish Education

Associate Professor

NameEmailFields
Jessie Blackburnblackburnjb@appstate.eduAssistant Chair
Rhetoric
Rhetoric & Composition
Technical & Professional Writing
Beth Carrollcarrollel@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Leslie Susan Cookcookls@appstate.eduEnglish Education
Lynn Doyledoylel@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Poetry & Poetics
Alison Gulleygulleyea@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Medieval
Gender Studies
History of the English Language
James Ivoryivoryjm@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 1900 to Present
Critical Theory
Post-Colonial Literature
Donna Lillianlilliandl@appstate.eduDiscourse Analysis
History of the English Language
Language Studies & Linguistics
David Orvisorvisdl@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Critical Theory
Gender Studies
Colin Ramseyramseyct@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - Colonial & Federal
Lynn Searfosssearfossla@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
History of the English Language
Language Studies & Linguistics
Rhetoric & Composition
Tammy Wahpeconiahwahpeconiaht@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - Colonial & Federal
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Assistant Chair
Cultural Studies
Susan Weinbergweinbergsc@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Michael T. Wilsonwilsonmt@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - 19th Century
Cultural Studies
Gender Studies
Jennifer Wilsonwilsonjp@appstate.eduBritish Literature - 18th Century
Wendy Winnwinnwl@appstate.eduTechnical & Professional Writing

Assistant Professor

NameEmailFields
Germán Campos-Muñozcamposmunozg@appstate.eduComparative Literature
Critical Theory
Film
World Literature
Başak Çandarcandarb@appstate.eduComparative Literature
Critical Theory
World Literature
Sarah-Beth Hoptonhoptonsb@appstate.eduRhetoric
Technical & Professional Writing
Chris Meademeadecm@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Comparative Literature
Critical Theory
Post-Colonial Literature
World Literature
Olga Menagarishvilimenagarishvilio@appstate.eduRhetoric
Technical & Professional Writing
Mark PowellPowelljm1@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Kyle Stevensstevensck@appstate.eduFilm
Zackary Vernonvernonzd@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Appalachian & Southern
Ecocriticism
Film
Southern Studies
Bret Zawilskizawilskibj@appstate.eduRhetoric
Rhetoric & Composition
Technical & Professional Writing

Visiting Assistant Professor

NameEmailFields
Jessica Martellmartelljl@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Ecocriticism
Irish Literature & Culture
Rhetoric & Composition

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Professor Emeritus

NameEmailFields
Edwin T. Arnoldenglish@appstate.edu 
Melissa Barthbarthme@appstate.eduCritical Theory
Gender Studies
Technical & Professional Writing
Howard Giskingiskinha@appstate.eduWorld Literature
Edelma Huntleyenglish@appstate.edu 
Leon Lewislewislh@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
British Literature - 1900 to Present
Film
Emory Maidenmaidenev@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
Holly Martinmartinhe@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 1900 to Present
American Literature - Ethnic & Native American
Grace McEnteemcenteege@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - 19th Century
American Literature - African American
Thomas McGowanmcgowanta@appstate.edu 
Thomas McLaughlinmclaughlin@appstate.eduCritical Theory
Gene Millerenglish@appstate.edu 
Roger Stillingstillingrj@appstate.eduBritish Literature - Early Modern
Film
Wilber Wardwardwh@appstate.eduAmerican Literature - Colonial & Federal

NTT Faculty

NameEmailFields
Katy Abramsabramskj@appstate.eduCreative Writing
Katie Adamsadamska@appstate.edu 
Burt Aycockaycockeb@appstate.edu 
Aaron Ballanceballanceam@appstate.edu 
Joel Berrierberrierjm@appstate.edu 
Tom Binegarbinegartb@appstate.edu 
Kate Birgelbirgelkz@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Dennis Bohrbohrdj@appstate.edu 
Miles Brittonbrittonrm@appstate.edu 
Hailie Bryantbryanthm@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
John Camachocamachoj@appstate.edu 
Rachel Clarkclarkre2@appstate.eduTechnical & Professional Writing
Kirsten Clemensclemenskm@appstate.eduFilm
Betty Miller Conwayconwaybm@appstate.edu 
Patrick Crowleycrowleypm@appstate.edu 
Heather Childress Custercusterhc@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Sarah Davisdaviss1@appstate.edu 
Dixie Farthingfarthngdr@appstate.edu 
Toney Frazierfraziertj@appstate.eduFilm
Karen Ginnginnke@appstate.edu 
Ben Goodgoodbp@appstate.edu 
Amy Hansonhansonae@appstate.edu 
Lorraine Harrisharrisml4@appstate.edu 
Kriss Heiksheikskm@appstate.edu 
Andy Hillhillaw@appstate.edu 
Vicki LeQuirelequirevl@appstate.edu 
Robin Lowelowere@appstate.edu 
Karla McGinnismcginniska@appstate.edu 
Ray Mizemizerw@appstate.edu 
Samantha Riegercraigsl@appstate.edu 
Rachel Robinsonrobinsonrr1@appstate.edu 
Andrea Rollerrolleral@appstate.edu 
Megan Ruggieromcswainma@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Suzanne Samplessamplessr@appstate.edu 
Catherine Talleytalleyce@appstate.edu 
Cole Wahabwahabjc@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Terry Waldspurgerwaldspurgerta@appstate.edu 
Tiffany Wilgarwilgartm@appstate.edu 
Linda "Gail" Yorkyorklg@appstate.eduRhetoric & Composition
Kevin Youngyoungkw@appstate.edu 
Sarah Zurhellenzurhellenss@appstate.edu